Effective February 19, 2007 same-sex or opposite-sex couples must be age 62 or older and meet the remaining eligibility requirements of the Domestic Partnership Act to register as Domestic Partners.
Domestic Partnerships registered prior to February 19, 2007 are still valid and are afforded the rights and benefits of Domestic Partners.
Couples must appear in person to the Municipal Center, Township Clerk’s Office, 641 Plainsboro Road during the hours of:
Monday-Friday 8:30am - 3:30pm
(609) 799-0909 x2547
1.Share a common residence in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction provided that at least one of the applicants is a member of a New Jersey State-administered retirement system;
2.Both persons are jointly responsible for each other’s common welfare as evidenced by joint financial arrangements or joint ownership of real or personal property;
3.Both persons agree to be jointly responsible for each other’s basic living expenses during the domestic partnership;
4.Not be party to a marriage or civil union recognized by New Jersey law or a member of a domestic partnership with another individual;
5.Not be related to each other by blood or affinity up to and including the fourth degree of consanguinity(simply stated, individuals who are first cousins or more distantly related);
6.Chose to share each other’s lives in a committed relationship of mutual caring;
7.Not have legally terminated another domestic partnership within the last 180 days. (This prohibition does not apply when the previous partnership ended due to the death of the other partner).
If the residence is outside the State of New Jersey, at least one of the applicants must provide proof of membership in a New Jersey State-administered retirement system by providing one of the following documents issued by the Division of Pensions and Benefits:
1. Personal Benefits Statement from the current or previous year;
2. 1099R from the current or previous year or
3. Certificate of Pension Membership.
Couples must bring the following:
1. Proof of residency (lease, mortgage, utility bill or valid NJ driver’s license)
2. Original birth certificates with a raised seal or valid passports
3. Proof of joint financial responsibility. (joint bank account, deed, lease etc.)
4. Payment of $28.00 made payable in Cash or Money Order